Attorneys Featured

Home  >  Attorneys Featured

Delaware DUI Driver’s License Restoration

 

Losing your license affects every aspect of your life. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI in Delaware, your license is at risk. Make sure that you don’t lose your driving privilege by enlisting the aid of DUI attorneys immediately after your arrest. If your license is suspended, Delaware makes it easy to get your license restored.

Immediate Suspension

If you are arrested for a DUI in Delaware, your license will be taken by the officer and you will be given a temporary 15 day license. You have 15 days to request a hearing to keep your driving privileges. Hiring driver’s license reinstatement attorneys can help you navigate this process. They can help you request the hearing and represent you in court. This is a separate proceeding from any criminal DUI charges you may face.

Restricted License

If your license is suspended for a DUI, you can apply for a restricted license that allows you to drive to authorized locations such as work and school. The application process and requirements vary depending on your situation and the requirements of the court. Typically, you will need to pay any fines and go through the alcohol treatment evaluation before you are able to get the restricted license. You will also have to install an ignition interlock device in your car. An attorney can help you with this process.

Quick Restoration for First Offenders

Delaware has a first offenders program that allows you to get your license restored almost immediately. In this program you waive your right to trial and are admitting to guilt. You have to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one year, and you will be required to go through a treatment program. While this does keep you from being without driving privileges, the DUI stay on your record for five years. It is a good idea to enlist DUI attorneys to help you fight the DUI charge if you do not want to admit guilt.

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -