Arkansas DUI Drivers License Restoration Rules

Arkansas DUI Drivers License Restoration Rules

 

When you fail a BAC test in Arkansas your license is automatically suspended. This occurs separately from any criminal court case and consequences. It is important that you know your rights and how to keep or restore your drivers license should this occur.

Stopping the Suspension

You can put a stop to a suspension for DUI in certain circumstances by requesting an administrative hearing. You must request the hearing within 7 days of your arrest. It is important to consult DUI attorneys immediately after an arrest to protect your rights and your license. The attorney will help you file the request for the hearing and represent you during the proceedings.

Restricted License

If experienced drivers license restoration attorneys are not able to stop the suspension on your license due to BAC level or repeat offenses, you may still be able to retain your right to drive. A restricted license is often available that allows you to drive to authorized locations such as work, school, alcohol treatment, or community service.

In order to get a restricted license you will need to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. You may also be required to satisfy other limitations, such as providing SR22 insurance. If criminal charges resulted in fines these will also typically need to be paid before you can get your restricted license.

Drivers License Restoration

Once your suspension period is up you will need to get your drivers license restored. You will need to pay the required fines, complete an alcohol treatment or education program, and pay a $150 reinstatement fee. You will also be required to carry SR22 insurance for a period of three years. If you run into any problems getting your license restored, contact drivers license reinstatement attorneys for assistance.

 

 

X
- Enter Your Location -
- or -